Wagga and Southern Cootamundra to be merged

To create Riverina Police District

Wagga and Southern Cootamundra to be merged

The Wagga Local Area Command will be merged with the Southern part of the Cootamundra LAC to form the Riverina Police District, under a shake-up of policing in regional NSW.

Overall, the state’s 34 LAC’s will be replaced by a system of 26 Police Districts, each will have a District Superintendent, and an Officer In Charge of each individual police station.

The changes are set to be rolled out, one Police District at a time, over the coming months, and while senior police say it’s about putting more police back on the front line, the Public Service Association has expressed concerns over the possible loss of critical civilian support staff in regional communities.